Yarn/Wire/Currents Vol. 0
Self Released (2017)

In 2012, Yarn/Wire was an ISSUE Project Room Artist-in-Residence. Collaborations with Pete Swanson, Nathan Davis, Tristan Perich, Elizabeth Adams, Christopher Burns, Andrew Nathaniel McIntosh, Tyondai Braxton, and Peter Evans led to the creation of eight outstanding new works. While each was based around Yarn/Wire's piano and percussion quartet configuration, they spanned an incredible sonic range, variously incorporating live electronics, improvisation, handmade instruments, theatre, installation, and more. This experience led Yarn/Wire to partner with curator Lawrence Kumpf on the creation of Yarn/Wire/Currents, an ongoing series of experimental music performances. Since its inception, Currents has generated thirteen collaborative works from a diverse group of domestic and international artists. This release, "Yarn/Wire/Currents 0", is a forerunner to the Currents series. The works on this album offer listeners a momentary sample of the diverse works that laid the groundwork for Yarn/Wire's ongoing explorations.