Tenri Cultural Institute, NYC
April 20, 2018

Founded by Alex Burtzos in 2016, ICEBERG New Music is a collective of ten young composers based in New York City. ICEBERG's mission is to promote the idea that substance, not surface, is the heart of music creation and perception. The collective's ten member composers hail from different schools of thought and cultivate radically different sounds – from musical theater and indie rock to avant-garde sounds and electronic installations – but their contrasting musical languages belie a shared emphasis on structure and depth of meaning. When these artists compose for the same ensemble and present their works during a joint concert, the result is a glimpse into the ever-widening possibilities of art music in the twenty-first century. Along with MIVOS quartet, Yarn/Wire is one of two groups that will be performing works by ICEBERG composers this season.

Works by:
Victor Baez
Alex Burtzos
Derek Cooper
Camilo Mendez
Emily Praetorius
Max Grafe
Jonathan Russ

More Information
For information about event accessibility accommodations, please contact

Tenri Cultural Institute
43 W. 13th St
New York, NY 10011